BNL’s Srivastava Presented with 2018 Seaborg Award for Nuclear Chemistry

Srivastava award

Srivastava award

Suresh Srivastava, a Senior Medical Scientist Emeritus and research advisor in the Collider-Accelerator Department and Medical Isotope Research & Production Program at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL), is this year’s recipient of the Glenn T. Seaborg Award. He recently accepted the award during the American Chemical Society’s (ACS) Spring 2018 National Meeting & Exposition in New Orleans, Louisiana. 

The prestigious award, sponsored by the ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology (NUCL), has been presented annually since 1955, recognizing individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the science or application of nuclear chemistry and radiochemistry.

Since first arriving at BNL in 1965, Suresh has played a vital role in the conception, development, and market transition of numerous radionuclides used in nuclear medicine. His peers view him as a pioneer for his achievements in the field of theranostics—radiopharmaceuticals capable of both diagnosing and treating cancer and cardiovascular disease, among other serious illnesses. In 2009, Suresh co-founded the World Association of Radiopharmaceutical and Molecular Therapy (WARMTH) to promote the use of such radionuclide molecular therapy and recently concluded a two-year term as the association’s president. He holds a B.S. in chemistry and biology, an M.S. in organic chemistry from Agra University, and a Ph.D. in nuclear and biological chemistry from University of Allahabad.


Please join us in congratulating Suresh on this significant achievement! 

[Image caption: Suresh Srivastava (center) accepts the Glenn T. Seaborg for Nuclear Chemistry at the ACS 2018 Spring National Meeting. Also pictured are NUCL representative Lynn C. Francesconi (right) and Peter K. Dorhout, ACS President (left). (Image courtesy of ACS)]